Six Proposed Constitutional Amendments on Ballot This Fall

Constitutional Amendments on the Ballot in November

Six proposed amendments to the North Carolina Constitution will be on the ballot for voter approval this fall. These amendments would

  • require voters to provide photo identification before voting in person;
  • cap North Carolina’s personal income tax rate at 7%;
  • give the state legislature a role in filling judicial vacancies;
  • give the state legislature (rather than the Governor) authority to make appointments to state government boards and commissions;
  • create constitutional (rather than statutory) rights for crime victims; and
  • create a constitutional (rather than statutory) right to hunt and fish.

A summary of the six amendments is posted below.

Four of the six amendments (Voter ID, Income Tax Cap, Judicial Appointments, and Board Appointments) were passed by the General Assembly’s Republican super majority along essentially party line votes over the opposition of the Democratic minority in what many people see as one more attempt by the Republican-controlled General Assembly to increase their power, limit voting rights, and increase Republican turn-out in the 2018 fall elections.

These amendments will become law if they are approved by a majority of the citizens who vote in the fall 2018 election.

Because the language on the ballot describing these amendments doesn’t always provide a clear and complete explanation of what the proposed amendments would do, it’s important to educate all North Carolina voters about what these amendments will and won’t do.

So step 1 is to educate yourself. Step 2 is to educate your friends, your congregation, your neighbors, and your community. And step 3 is to get out and vote.

The future of North Carolina is in your hands!

Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab

Download [142.18 KB]

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.